Apple officially announced the new iPad Air 8th generation with the Apple Watch SE and Watch Series 6 last night. Apple also declared a new operating system update to almost every Apple device. We got the new updates for iPhones, iPods, Watch, and even the TV. The iPhone users will finally get the iOS 14 update which was in the beta for quite a time.

The latest iOS 14 brings new features as well as performance improvements and will be available for all compatible iPhones starting today. In addition, iPad users will also start receiving the iPadOS 14 update, while Watch users will get WatchOS 7. Apple will also start rolling out the final version of tvOS 14.

Here are the Key Features You Should Expect

  • New compact designs for incoming FaceTime and phone calls, Siri interactions, and Search to help users stay focused on the task at hand.
  • Universal Search to quickly find practically anything, from locating and launching apps, to accessing contacts, files, and information, to getting answers to common questions about people or places.
  • New sidebars for many apps including Photos and Files, and streamlined toolbars that consolidate controls into a single place, making them more useful than ever.
  • Redesigned widgets that present timely information at a glance right on the Home Screen.

Other key improvements include a new compact interface for Siri and incoming calls (which up until now took up the entire screen) as well as picture-in-picture mode, which lets you watch videos while doing other things.

Here’s a breakdown of when Apple’s new operating systems are expected to become available based on other times zones around the world:

  • Honolulu, Hawaii — 7:00 a.m. HAST
  • Anchorage, Alaska — 9:00 a.m. AKDT
  • Cupertino, California — 10:00 a.m. PDT
  • Phoenix, Arizona — 10:00 a.m. MST
  • Vancouver, Canada — 10:00 a.m. PDT
  • Denver, Colorado — 11:00 a.m. MDT
  • Dallas, Texas — 12:00 noon CDT
  • New York, New York — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Raleigh, North Carolina — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Toronto, Canada — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Halifax, Canada — 2:00 p.m. ADT
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil — 2:00 p.m. BRT
  • London, United Kingdom — 6:00 p.m. BST
  • Berlin, Germany — 7:00 p.m. CEST
  • Paris, France — 7:00 p.m. CEST
  • Cape Town, South Africa — 7:00 p.m. SAST
  • Moscow, Russia — 8:00 p.m. MSK
  • Helsinki, Finland — 8:00 p.m. EEST
  • Istanbul, Turkey — 8:00 p.m. TRT
  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates — 9:00 p.m. GST
  • Delhi, India — 10:30 p.m. IST
  • Jakarta, Indonesia — 12:00 a.m. WIB next day
  • Shanghai, China — 1:00 a.m. CST next day
  • Singapore — 1:00 a.m. SGT next day
  • Perth, Australia — 1:00 a.m. AWST next day
  • Hong Kong — 1:00 a.m. HKT next day
  • Seoul, South Korea — 2:00 a.m. KST next day
  • Tokyo, Japan — 2:00 a.m. JST next day
  • Adelaide, Australia — 2:30 a.m. ACST next day
  • Sydney, Australia — 3:00 a.m. AEST next day
  • Auckland, New Zealand — 5:00 a.m. NZST next day

Here’s how to install the new software update on your Apple device.

How to upgrade to iOS 14 and iPadOS 14

The process is simple. You will be able to upgrade your iPhone and iPad to the latest software update by:

  • Heading over to the Settings menu on your iPhone/iPad
  • Go to General then tap on the Software update option.
  • You will see a new update there, you can start the update to download.

Precautions

  • The update package is going to be a couple of gigabytes so make sure you are connected to an unlimited and fast Wifi network.
  • Your device should be charged at least 40 percent to get through the update process.
  • Do not use your Apple device while the installation is on. This will speed up the process further.
  • Ensure to back up all your data, chats before hitting the installation button.

Supported iPhones That Will Get iOS 14 Update

iPhone 11

iPhone 11 Pro Max

iPhone 11 Pro

iPhone XS

iPhone XS Max

iPhone XR

iPhone X

iPhone 8

iPhone 8 Plus

iPhone 7

iPhone 7 Plus

iPhone 6s

iPhone 6s Plus

Supported iPads That Will Get the iPadOS 14 Update

iPhone SE (1st generation)

iPhone SE (2nd generation)

iPod Touch (7th generation)

iPad Pro 12.9-inch (4th generation)

iPad Pro 11-inch (2nd generation)

iPad Pro 12.9-inch (3rd generation)

iPad Pro 11-inch (1st generation)

iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2nd generation)

iPad Pro 12.9-inch (1st generation)

iPad Pro 10.5-inch

iPad Pro 9.7-inch

iPad (7th generation)

iPad (6th generation)

iPad (5th generation)

iPad Mini (5th generation)

iPad Mini 4

iPad Air (3rd generation)

iPad Air 2

How to install watchOS 7

When the new software update is available your Apple Watch will notify and then you will be able to update to watchOS 14 using your iPhone.

  • First tap of the ‘Update Tonight’ option in the notification.
  • Unlock your iPhone now and open the Apple Watch app.
  • Go to the My Watch > General and tap on Software update.

While the update is installing leave your Apple Watch as well as iPhone on charging overnight.

WatchOS 7‌ can be installed on Apple Watch Series 3, Series 4, and Series 5 models. It is not compatible with the original first-generation Apple Watch, Apple Watch Series 1, or Apple Watch Series 2.

That is all on how you can install iOS 14 update on your supported devices. You can also update all the other devices to the latest versions of the OS update released by Apple.

 


administrator

I'm Funsho, a lover of anything technology. I have an uncontrollable passion for sharing the latest and trending tech-related ideas and information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *